MORE than 400 athletes took part in Grange Farm and Dunmow Runners’ 20th Anniversary Felsted ten kilometre road race.

Although the high temperatures were far from ideal for running, some impressive times were recorded.

The race was won by Paul Whittaker of Basildon in 33 minutes 54 seconds, with Stephen Strange of Woodford Green second in 34.21 and Benfleet’s Joshua Entwistle third in 34.48.

For the women, Jackie Stretton of Springfield Striders was first in 39.28, followed by Fiona Halls of Saffron Striders in 42.29 and Grange Farm’s Philippa Robinson in 42.47.

Male age category winners: M40 Gary Coombes (Ilford AC, 36.55), M50 Tom Davies (41.27), M60 David Butler (Billericay Striders, 40.49) and M70 Malcolm Savage (Springfield Striders, 51.47).

Female age category winners: F35 Fiona Halls, F45 Octavia Singleton (Witham RC, 45.12), F55 Claudine Benstead (Harwich Runners, 43.55) and F65 Sheila Purkiss (1.17.52).

Of the 15 Grange Farm and Dunmow runners, Lee Pickering was fastest in 40.17.

Ben Portus finished in 43.39, followed by Martin Atkinson (43.44), Alan Fullerton (44.46), Neil Hitchcock (45.09), Luca Predebon (45.30) and Jason Bepey (45.51). Emily Predebon (49.22) finished ahead of Gillian Robertson (51.00), Charlotte King (51.26), Lee Prowse (52.59), Beverley Backhouse (1.03.42), Louise Garrett (1.07.49) and Madeline Hawkes (1.08.51).

The men’s team prize was won by Benfleet Athletic Club and the women’s prize by Springfield Striders.

Each competitor received a commemorative 20th Anniversary medal.