James Cleverly has been re-elected as Braintree’s Member of Parliament after the constituency voted Conservative.

The former Home Secretary secured 17,414 votes, ahead of Labour’s Matthew Wright, who finished second with 13,744 votes.

Reform UK’s Richard Thomson placed third with 11,436 votes, while Liberal Democrat Kieron Franks took 2,879 votes.

Paul Thorogood, of the Green Party, received 2,878 votes, and David Heather, who was standing independently secured 767 votes.

Mr Cleverly took to the podium at Tabor Academy, shortly after 6.17am after the result was finallyrevealed.

In his acceptance speech he was full of gratitude.

He said: “Thank you to the people of Braintree, the new constituency of Braintree who have returned me to Parliament as their representative, champion, their spokesperson in Westminster.

“It is a privilege and an honour to serve. I thank you for the opportunity to do so again.”

He also thanked his campaign team and the other candidates for the “well natured campaign”.

Mr Cleverly also said “Braintree is a wonderful place full of wonderful people.”

To watch Mr Cleverly's  full acceptance speech at the count, see the Facebook video below.