Teachers from mid Essex were recgonised at the latest set of prestigious awards.

The Essex Teaching Awards celebrate the outstanding educators and support staff working in a variety of education sectors.

The awards brought to light the outstanding teachers from primary, secondary, special, and early years settings across Essex.

Emma Twilley, from the Edith Borthwick School in Braintree, was handed the Teaching Assistant of the year award.

Emma is described as a warm, welcoming person who has gone over and above what is expected of a classroom assistant.

She is always willing to learn new things like Braille to help her students, and always has time to listen to what we have to say and pass it on to other staff if necessary.

The SEN Team at Great Easton Primary in Dunmow, won the team of the year award.

The team helps students integrate into the school environment, and works tirelessly to establish trust, and often spend considerable amounts of their personal time after school hours and at weekends to help their students.

In the Lifetime Achievement Awards, Christina O'Shea, from the Holy Family Catholic Primary School in Witham was recognised.

Christina has worked at the school as a Learning Support Assistant and Head Midday Assistant for 30 years and has worked with many children over the years, affecting multiple generations of children who have come through Holy Family.

Two staff members were highly commended at the awards too. Patsy Fitzpatrick from the White Notley C of E Primary in the teacher of the year in a Primary School category, and Janette Hawkins from Witham Valley Nursery, for EYFS Practioner of the year.

Education boss at Essex County Council Tony Ball said: “I’m sure we can all remember a teacher, member of school staff, or an early year’s staff member who made a difference to our lives in some way.

“The Essex Teaching Awards give us the opportunity to highlight and celebrate the positive impact these individuals have on the lives of children and young people across Essex.

“I would like to congratulate everyone that won an award, was highly commended or nominated this year.”